Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T)

The new EU infrastructure policy will put in place a powerful European transport network across 28 Member States to promote growth and competitiveness.

The TEN-T as a coherent system of the comprehensive and the core net layer for European related connected infrastructures replaces the former Trans-European Priority Projects, which were a collection of single national projects. The Core Net will be established by 2030. For the first time, a core transport network will be built on 9 major corridors called Core Network Corridors (CNC): 2 North-South corridors, 3 East West corridors; and 4 diagonal corridors. The EU 27 comprises 5.000.000 km of paved roads, out of which 65.100 km are motorways, 212.800 km are rail lines (of which 110.458 km electrified), and 42.709 km are navigable inland waterways. An interactive map of the whole TEN-T network is provided by the European Commssion.

The task is to implement Cohesion Policy by transforming East West connections, removing bottlenecks, upgrading infrastructure and streamlining cross border transport operations for passengers and businesses throughout the EU. It will improve multi modal transport and contribute to the EU's climate change objectives.

Financing for transport infrastructure will triple for the period 2014-2020 to €26 billion (€11.3 billion Euro from the Connecting Europe Facility, CEF) ring-fenced only for cohesion countries.

The European Commission has announced that the Innovation and Networks Executive Agency (INEA) will officially begin its operations on 1st January 2014 in order to manage several of its major funding programmes.

The former Scandria® project and cooperating projects and initiatives within the Scandria®Corridor gave important inputs to the revision of the TEN-T strategy.


Video massage by Jean-Eric Paquet, Director European Mobility Network, DG MOVE, European Commission

FaLang translation system by Faboba



  • Baltic-Adriatic
  • North Sea - Baltic
  • Mediterranean
  • Orient/ East Med
  • Scandinavian - Mediterranean
  • Rhine - Alpine
  • Atlantic
  • North Sea-Mediterranean
  • Rhine-Danube